2013 CA State

Gold Standard Games/Dave & Busters Air Hockey Championships:

The 2013 California State Air Hockey Championships took place on February 23 at Dave & Busters in Irvine, CA. The event was sponsored by Gold Standard Games, Dave & Busters, Proairhockey.com, and several other businesses. Tournament organizers Cory Dzbinski and Kim Wenskay of Proairhockey.com were pleased with the response to their first state-level event. Media coverage included an extensive segment on San Diego Union-Tribune’s UT-TV.

Winning the tournament was current USAA World Champion Billy Stubbs of Chicago. Second place went to Davis Lee Huynh of Sunnyvale, CA, a 2-time World Champion. Joe Cain of San Ramon, CA was 3rd, followed by Donovan Brown of Houston, TX.

“The tournament was an opportunity to showcase a prototype of our new Premium FEC air hockey table”, said Gold Standard Games/Shelti owner Mark Robbins. “The response was great from both players and D&B personnel. And as expected, Dave & Busters was a first-class venue for such an event.”

Dave & Busters Marketing Manager Popeye Vasquez said: “What an awesome spectacle for our guests! Dave & Busters is proud to have hosted this year’s tournament. The quality of class and sportsmanship these players showed up with was nothing short of admirable…. And the new premium Gold Standard air hockey table was the talk of the tournament. One-of-a-kind, definitely the best table we’ve seen!”

John Kopchak, Amusement Manager for Dave & Busters Irvine, added: “We enjoyed hosting the tournament and look forward to hosting many more events in the future…. The Gold Standard table… is truly a quality piece and I would highly recommend it to anybody interested in buying such a table.”

Final results:

1. Billy Stubbs
2. Davis Lee
3. Joe Cain
4. Donovan Brown
5. Nick Geoffrey
6. Chris Lee
7. George Anderson
8. Mark Robbins
9. Lazaro Garcia
10. Cory Dzbinski
11. Kristian Urosovic
12. Tim Harshfield
13. Peter Cheung
14. Nicholas Del Gado
15. Kimberly Wenskay
16. Luis Alvarado
17. Olaa Cantwell
18. Tony Guzman
19. Nicholaus Velasquez
20. Emma Anderson
21. Sherman Davis
22. Lorenzo Marando
23. Allen Cheung
24. Warren Schultz


This entry was posted in Tournaments. Bookmark the permalink.